Formula E awarded world first award for sustainability

By Rose Adams | 12 Jul 2018 | Sport, Speed

The eco-friendly efforts of the electric racing series have been rewarded by SGS

img tempus
* The fully-electric Formula E cars battling it out around the streets of Zurich

Racing into first place in the sustainability stakes is leading electric motorsport company Formula E, which has just become the first company in motorsport to be awarded the highly-acclaimed International Standard of Sustainability in Events Certification – also known as the ISO 20121. The accolade was granted by SGS, the world’s leading inspection, verification and certification company, securing the Formula E's commitment to sustainable practices in events and entertainment.

With a notable ratio of just 86kg of CO2 per spectator – equivalent to driving 400km by petrol-fuelled car – The ABB FIA Formula E Championship has one of the lowest carbon footprints of all international sporting events. This is partly a result of the absence of any permanent infrastructure – each e-Prix takes place on the streets of cities such as Monaco, New York and London – as well as the events' encouragement of local spectators travelling via public transport. The event has also implemented a number of effective sustainable strategies, including a waste management scheme, and continued efforts to source sustainable suppliers. 

“I’m very proud of the hard work Formula E has put into receiving third party ISO 20121 certification – the highest award in sustainable events,” said the championship's founder and CEO Alejandro Agag. “The achievement is a testament to our entire ecosystem working towards a common goal of continuously improving our sustainability credentials and working with our supply chain at events to inspire others to make a conscious effort in minimising the impact on the environment. I look forward to other sports and categories of racing taking inspiration from the ABB FIA Formula E Championship.”

Related: 24 hours in Paris with Formula E driver Jean-Éric Vergne

img tempus
* The ABB FIA Formula E Championship has one of the lowest carbon footprints of all international sporting events

The ISO 20121 award was established following the London 2012 Olympics, in order to encourage events to become more socially responsible and reduce individual environmental footprints. Previous winners of the award include the Roland Garros French Tennis Open, the 2016 Olympics in Rio de Janeiro and the 2016 UEFA European Championships in France.

Described as an "electric street racing series", Formula E is the world’s first ever fully-electric international single-seater category in motorsport, speeding into some of the world’s leading cities such as Hong Kong, Paris and Rome. Established in September 2014, the fourth edition of the ABB FIA Formula E Championship will see 10 teams and 20 drivers compete in 10 cities spanning five continents in the fight to be crowned champion. 

The fourth season of the championship – which is currently running until Sunday 29 July – has seen reigning champion (and former Tempus cover star) Lucas di Grassi defend his title for the Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler team. The inaugural New York race, held on 14-15 July, will see the UK's Sam Bird take on French driver Jean-Éric Vergne. Next season other notable manufacturers have also committed to race, including BMW and Nissan in tandem, while Mercedes-Benz and Porsche have announced plans to join the following year.

This site uses cookies to give you the best possible experience. By continuing to use the site you agree that we can save cookies on your device. Cookies are small text files placed on your device that remember your preferences and some details of your visit. Our cookies don't collect personal information. More info. Accept